Defending against drunk driving charges

On Behalf of | Jul 3, 2019 | Dui / Dwi, Firm News |

Under Virginia law, it is illegal to drive a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content level of 0.08 or above. There are different types of DUI charges accused people may face and different legal limits depending on the age of the driver that it is useful to be familiar with.

Accused individuals facing DUI charges are facing potential penalties and consequences which may include jail time, fines, license suspension, community service requirements or the requirement that they install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle.

In Virginia, an individual facing their first DUI charge is facing a misdemeanor charge and a potential criminal record. In addition, they may receive a fine ranging between $250 and $2,500 and a one-year suspension of their driver’s license. Also, based on the alleged blood alcohol content level of the accused individual, they may be facing additional penalties and consequences including jail time. Like other charges accused individuals may face, DUI charges need a strong criminal defense response.

Individuals facing DUI charges are facing a litany of potential penalties and consequences that can follow them around and impact their freedom, personal lives and professional, educational and housing opportunities. There are a variety of methods of challenging a drunk driving charge ranging from attacking the evidence alleged against the accused individual to challenging the actions of police if they did not follow proper procedures. Because DUI charges can quickly become serious and lead to long-term consequences, it is essential for accused individuals to seek help from an attorney with experience in criminal defense.


FindLaw Network